View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 23 Nov 2024, 11:39



Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ] 
 A problem with Supremacy 
Author Message
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2007, 01:00
Posts: 4
Hi,

I have a problem with The Supremacy. When I'm going to load the game, after choosing options like size of a galaxy and the like, I have an error:
Unhandled exception has occured. Detailed error informatio is available in the Error.txt filr.

In Error.txt is:

Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.

at System.RuntimeMethodHandle._InvokeMethodFast(Object target, Object[] arguments, SignatureStruct& sig, MethodAttributes methodAttributes, RuntimeTypeHandle typeOwner)
at System.RuntimeMethodHandle.InvokeMethodFast(Object target, Object[] arguments, Signature sig, MethodAttributes methodAttributes, RuntimeTypeHandle typeOwner)
at System.Reflection.RuntimeMethodInfo.Invoke(Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, Binder binder, Object[] parameters, CultureInfo culture, Boolean skipVisibilityChecks)
at System.Delegate.DynamicInvokeImpl(Object[] args)
at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(Delegate callback, Object args, Boolean isSingleParameter)
at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.TryCatchWhen(Object source, Delegate callback, Object args, Boolean isSingleParameter, Delegate catchHandler)

----------------------------------------

The communication object, System.ServiceModel.Channels.ServiceChannel, cannot be used for communication because it is in the Faulted state.


Server stack trace:
at System.ServiceModel.Channels.CommunicationObject.ThrowIfDisposedOrNotOpen()
at System.ServiceModel.Channels.ServiceChannel.Call(String action, Boolean oneway, ProxyOperationRuntime operation, Object[] ins, Object[] outs, TimeSpan timeout)
at System.ServiceModel.Channels.ServiceChannel.Call(String action, Boolean oneway, ProxyOperationRuntime operation, Object[] ins, Object[] outs)
at System.ServiceModel.Channels.ServiceChannelProxy.InvokeService(IMethodCallMessage methodCall, ProxyOperationRuntime operation)
at System.ServiceModel.Channels.ServiceChannelProxy.Invoke(IMessage message)

Exception rethrown at [0]:
at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.HandleReturnMessage(IMessage reqMsg, IMessage retMsg)
at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.PrivateInvoke(MessageData& msgData, Int32 type)
at Supremacy.WCF.ISupremacyService.HostSinglePlayerGame(GameOptions options, Player& localPlayer)
at Supremacy.Client.ServiceClient.HostSinglePlayerGame(GameOptions options, Player& localPlayer) in C:\Documents and Settings\mikest\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\Supremacy_2008\SupremacyClient\ServiceClient.cs:line 50
at Supremacy.Client.HumanClient.HostGame(String playerName, String fileName, GameOptions options, Boolean isSinglePlayerGame) in C:\Documents and Settings\mikest\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\Supremacy_2008\SupremacyClient\HumanClient.cs:line 424
at Supremacy.Client.HumanClient.HostSinglePlayerGame(GameOptions options) in C:\Documents and Settings\mikest\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\Supremacy_2008\SupremacyClient\HumanClient.cs:line 337
at Supremacy.Client.GameWindow.<>c__DisplayClass6.<MenuScreen_SinglePlayerCommand_Executed>b__4() in C:\Documents and Settings\mikest\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\Supremacy_2008\SupremacyClient\GameWindow.xaml.cs:line 636

----------------------------------------


What is wrong, what should I do to avoid this error?
Thank you in advance for help.


16 Sep 2007, 12:33
Profile
Evil Romulan Overlord of Evil - Now 100% Faster!
Evil Romulan Overlord of Evil - Now 100% Faster!
User avatar

Joined: 02 Dec 2004, 01:00
Posts: 7392
Location: Returned to the previous place.
I'm not a programmer so can't decipher all the all the wierd proramming speak, but one thing that I have had to tell a couple of people lately is that you need to install Supremacy as a clean install.

This means that you MUST either delete all older versions of Supremacy, or put the new files in a completely different folder. Just download the game again and unzip it to a folder called Supremacy 2 or something, just so you know where the new game files are.

If you don't perform a clean install, some of the older files may clash with the newer, updated files, throwing an exception and leading to a game crash.

If you've done that, make sure that you followed the instructions in the original post about installing the correct version of .Net. I added a link in Mikes original post to an official Microsoft tool that deletes older versions of the program so you can install the correct version.

If you've done all that though...sorry, but you'll have to wait for Mike to decipher the message.

_________________
"Anyone without a sense of humour is truly at the mercy of the rest of us."

Image
Image


16 Sep 2007, 13:55
Profile WWW
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2007, 01:00
Posts: 4
Thank you for your help. I didn't have The Supremacy later so it can't be a cause of the problem.

Maybe there is something with NET Framework (or something like this). I deinstalled it and installed one more time and it didn't solve the problem. There are links to two versions of this program. Maybe I used the wrong one? How to check which I should use?


16 Sep 2007, 16:15
Profile
Evil Romulan Overlord of Evil - Now 100% Faster!
Evil Romulan Overlord of Evil - Now 100% Faster!
User avatar

Joined: 02 Dec 2004, 01:00
Posts: 7392
Location: Returned to the previous place.
If you don't know which version of Windows you have, i'm 99% sure that you've got Windows x86 (Also known as 32-bit Windows). 64-bit Windows is a slightly newer version of Windows that can handle much higher amounts of memory - which allows games to be more complicated, longer file names, and other good things like that.

64-bit Windows is relatively new, and programs need to be specifically written to be able to use these extra abilities that 64-bit Windows allows, however, so most people are still on 32-bit Windows.

You can find more info about the differences Here.

Since you've tried out my suggestions without joy, it may be another problem. I'll give Mike a buzz on MSN and make sure he sees this thread. :wink:

_________________
"Anyone without a sense of humour is truly at the mercy of the rest of us."

Image
Image


16 Sep 2007, 16:29
Profile WWW
Chief Software Engineer
Chief Software Engineer
User avatar

Joined: 11 Aug 2005, 01:00
Posts: 2688
Looks like a network issue. Do you have any firewall software running on your PC?

_________________
Lead Developer of Star Trek: Supremacy
253,658 lines of code and counting...


17 Sep 2007, 01:20
Profile WWW
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2007, 01:00
Posts: 4
I turned off the firewall, and it didn't help. But I didn't want to play multiplayer, I wanted to play in single play, so how the firewall can be the cause of the problem?


18 Sep 2007, 15:04
Profile
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: 13 Nov 2006, 01:00
Posts: 2111
Location: Germany
Client-Server-Principle, i.e. the game always connects to a host (in single player case this host is just your computer) and you and others can connect to that host via tcp-ip so in fact it seems a little overcomplicated and unnecessary but it makes life easier in the end..


18 Sep 2007, 15:59
Profile WWW
Chief Software Engineer
Chief Software Engineer
User avatar

Joined: 11 Aug 2005, 01:00
Posts: 2688
Malvoisin's got it right, except that the connection gets made with named pipes instead of TCP/IP when you're playing a single player game, so it theoretically shouldn't cause firewall issues (but you never know).

_________________
Lead Developer of Star Trek: Supremacy
253,658 lines of code and counting...


18 Sep 2007, 16:39
Profile WWW
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 19 Sep 2007, 01:00
Posts: 7
Location: Sandpoint, Idaho
Im not having this problem. Mine is just VERY slow turns. Do I need to upgrade my Computer?


11 Dec 2007, 07:02
Profile
Combat Engineer
Combat Engineer
User avatar

Joined: 18 Jul 2005, 01:00
Posts: 1001
Nope, no need, the slow turns are being addressed at the moment, it might be best to play on a small map however for the time being.

Regards Wolfe

_________________
Image


11 Dec 2007, 11:31
Profile
Evil Romulan Overlord of Evil - Now 100% Faster!
Evil Romulan Overlord of Evil - Now 100% Faster!
User avatar

Joined: 02 Dec 2004, 01:00
Posts: 7392
Location: Returned to the previous place.
Yeah, as Wolfe said, keep to the tiny map size for the time being, and just wait for the next release of Supremacy. Mike has identified a number of bottlenecks in the turn processing and Galaxy generation coding, and is working to reduce or remove those bottlenecks. The next release of Supremacy will contain those fixes, so you will be able to play on the larger map sizes again. I have to warn you that no matter how much Mike speeds up the program though, the giant map will always run slower than a tiny map because there is more information to be processed, and you MAY need a more powerful computer IF you decided to play hundreds if not thousands of turns on a giant map and couldn't accept it running slow. I imagine most people will be happy with the size vs performance tradeoff though, because even the small map size is considerably bigger than the large map in BOTF. :wink:

_________________
"Anyone without a sense of humour is truly at the mercy of the rest of us."

Image
Image


11 Dec 2007, 16:01
Profile WWW
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 03:05
Posts: 37
Location: California US
2.6 GHz dualcore shouldn't have a problem with the larger galaxy sizes when its finished should it?

_________________
If you wear yellow; You are a prosporous fellow
If you wear blue; Long life will come to you
But if you wear red; You will soon be dead!


11 Dec 2007, 20:56
Profile YIM WWW
Chief Software Engineer
Chief Software Engineer
User avatar

Joined: 11 Aug 2005, 01:00
Posts: 2688
Dear god no. In the end it will vary more based on the number of civilizations (including minor races) in the game, as the AI code will have to execute for each of them.

_________________
Lead Developer of Star Trek: Supremacy
253,658 lines of code and counting...


11 Dec 2007, 21:39
Profile WWW
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: 10 Aug 2005, 01:00
Posts: 309
Location: Florida, USA
all I can do when I think of that is laugh; if this game is that taxing I would cry!!!!

_________________
Image Image


11 Dec 2007, 23:39
Profile WWW
Chief Software Engineer
Chief Software Engineer
User avatar

Joined: 11 Aug 2005, 01:00
Posts: 2688
The game's not that taxing. Turn processing on my machine takes a couple of seconds (still longer than it should be), while some users have reported turn processing times of over a minute or more. That's not a normal discrepency--there's obviously something very wrong that's causing a livelock or something to occur on some systems but not others, and it's not a matter of CPU power, RAM, or other hardware. It's likely a combination of several factors, and it may take a while to track them all down. Please don't start going out and buying new computers on account of me, I'll get it fixed :).

_________________
Lead Developer of Star Trek: Supremacy
253,658 lines of code and counting...


11 Dec 2007, 23:50
Profile WWW
Lieutenant Junior Grade
Lieutenant Junior Grade
User avatar

Joined: 11 Nov 2007, 02:55
Posts: 264
Location: UK
Hehe, first time I've heard of a problem like this being called a livelock. Clever :mischief:

Anyway, nice to see you're addressing the turn processing times, good stuff. :thumbwink:


12 Dec 2007, 01:14
Profile
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: 11 Jul 2005, 01:00
Posts: 493
mstrobel wrote:
The game's not that taxing. Turn processing on my machine takes a couple of seconds (still longer than it should be), while some users have reported turn processing times of over a minute or more.


I was especially having a long turn time... I think at one point it took 3-5 minutes just for the next turn to cycle around and that was just on the fifth turn...

_________________
You ain't seen nothen yet.


12 Dec 2007, 05:16
Profile
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 19 Sep 2007, 01:00
Posts: 7
Location: Sandpoint, Idaho
I have been playing on a medium size map with no problems now. As far as I'm concerned this game is headed in the right direction. I can't wait to see the finished product. I like it better than BOTE. Mucho Kudos To dev team.


12 Dec 2007, 07:05
Profile
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 19 Sep 2007, 01:00
Posts: 7
Location: Sandpoint, Idaho
I just found out I can't scrap or mothball my older ships at the depot. Is there a way to do this or is it in the works?


12 Dec 2007, 19:06
Profile
Chief Software Engineer
Chief Software Engineer
User avatar

Joined: 11 Aug 2005, 01:00
Posts: 2688
kdreed64 wrote:
I just found out I can't scrap or mothball my older ships at the depot. Is there a way to do this or is it in the works?
It's a 'To Be Implemented' feature (planned but not yet available).

_________________
Lead Developer of Star Trek: Supremacy
253,658 lines of code and counting...


12 Dec 2007, 19:18
Profile WWW
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 19 Sep 2007, 01:00
Posts: 7
Location: Sandpoint, Idaho
No Prob. Your game is progressing very nicely! You have some skills for sure! Keep up the good work. If you have any more updated versions in the future please let me know.


12 Dec 2007, 19:22
Profile
Chief Software Engineer
Chief Software Engineer
User avatar

Joined: 11 Aug 2005, 01:00
Posts: 2688
kdreed64 wrote:
No Prob. Your game is progressing very nicely! You have some skills for sure! Keep up the good work. If you have any more updated versions in the future please let me know.
Thanks :). I don't generally announce new releases, as I often push new versions out on a weekly or biweekly basis. I always update the original post in the "Supremacy Pre-Release Download" thread and change the timestamp in the title to reflect the date of latest release. The downtime until the next release will be longer than usual, as I've done a lot of refactoring, so it will likely be another couple weeks before any official updates.

_________________
Lead Developer of Star Trek: Supremacy
253,658 lines of code and counting...


12 Dec 2007, 21:33
Profile WWW
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 03:05
Posts: 37
Location: California US
mstrobel wrote:
The downtime until the next release will be longer than usual, as I've done a lot of refactoring, so it will likely be another couple weeks before any official updates.


This is a good thing. I have finals next week, and I'd rather not get F's because of a new release. :waah:

_________________
If you wear yellow; You are a prosporous fellow
If you wear blue; Long life will come to you
But if you wear red; You will soon be dead!


12 Dec 2007, 22:00
Profile YIM WWW
Chief Software Engineer
Chief Software Engineer
User avatar

Joined: 11 Aug 2005, 01:00
Posts: 2688
Kirktitude wrote:
This is a good thing. I have finals next week, and I'd rather not get F's because of a new release. :waah:
Good luck--that's one thing I don't miss about school :mrgreen:.

_________________
Lead Developer of Star Trek: Supremacy
253,658 lines of code and counting...


13 Dec 2007, 00:37
Profile WWW
Crewman
User avatar

Joined: 18 Jan 2008, 23:21
Posts: 17
FoxURA wrote:
mstrobel wrote:
The game's not that taxing. Turn processing on my machine takes a couple of seconds (still longer than it should be), while some users have reported turn processing times of over a minute or more.


I was especially having a long turn time... I think at one point it took 3-5 minutes just for the next turn to cycle around and that was just on the fifth turn...


I noticed that when a ship is set to "explore" and not "engage" or "avoid", it takes a while for the next turn, but once it is off, it goes back to normal.


22 Jan 2008, 21:24
Profile
Chief Software Engineer
Chief Software Engineer
User avatar

Joined: 11 Aug 2005, 01:00
Posts: 2688
Comtraya wrote:
I noticed that when a ship is set to "explore" and not "engage" or "avoid", it takes a while for the next turn, but once it is off, it goes back to normal.

That's a known issue. It gets worse as there the amount of unexplored space shrinks. It will eventually be fixed, but it's been a low priority.

_________________
Lead Developer of Star Trek: Supremacy
253,658 lines of code and counting...


22 Jan 2008, 23:44
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 26 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.